Dirty God: Jesus in the Trenches (review)

Dirty God: Jesus in the TrenchesDirty God: Jesus in the Trenches by Johnnie Moore

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I’m incredibly thankful for this new book from Johnnie Moore. I teach high school students, and I’m putting quotes from “Dirty God” on my whiteboard every week. With wit, humor, and an impressive array of international travel stories, Johnnie Moore reminds of what’s so “amazing” about grace, and why grace should utterly transform our lives. Moore leads a new generation of evangelicals who realize that God has a Mission in the world, and He expects the Church to leading the charge. I’m especially encouraged by Johnnie’s leadership at Liberty University, and hope this book is a sign of a re-directed focus for Liberty. For too long, conservative Christians have been dismissed as the “anti-gay, anti-abortion, anti-liberal” faction of extremists. While I’m grateful for the courageous stand taken by Jerry Falwell and others, we need to get beyond that. We need to be known as re-builders of inner cities, rather than builders of huge churches.  We need to be known as extremists who befriend homosexuals and offer them the healing of the Gospel in a loving community. We need to be the radicals who come alongside teenage mothers help them care for their babies. We need to be notorious for our extravagant giving to the poor in developing countries, instead of giving millions to the “conservative lobby.” We don’t have much to show for decades of political pontificating. Johnnie calls us to join Jesus in the trenches, and I hope and pray that God would stir up His people to forsake the American Dream for the sake of the Kingdom Dream!

View all my reviews

(Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”)

Leave a Reply

