The Essential Bible Companion to the Psalms

The Essential Bible Companion to the PsalmsThe Essential Bible Companion to the Psalms by David R. Beach

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Brian Webster and David Beach have produced an accessible introduction to the Psalms. Christians have always treasured the Psalms, but they can seem foreign to our culture today. Just this afternoon, I had a long discussion with my junior Greek class on what David meant when he says that God “hates evildoers” (Ps. 5:5). The Essential Bible Companion to the Psalms gives a practical commentary on topics like this, explains the background of each psalm, and notes the type of Psalm, as well as key themes and phrases. I especially appreciated how the authors draw attention to how the Psalms are quoted in the New Testament. The book is illustrated with lots of colorful, and thought-provoking, pictures. Some are a little too post-modern for my taste, but they do help the reader to think in metaphors and symbols, which is the point of poetry in the first place! A great little resource!

(Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Zondervan book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.)

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

