Review – The Power of a Whisper

The Power of a WhisperThe Power of a Whisper by Bill Hybels

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I must admit that I started to read this book with a fair amount of prejudice. I had always heard Bill Hybels and Willow Creek referred to in a condescending manner. I was pleasantly surprised. While I’m sure I still disagree with Hybels on a number of things, I found little to actually criticize in this book. I appreciated how Hybels shared the mountains and valleys of his spiritual life, his failures as well as his impressive successes.

The book convinced me that I need to more open to the leading of the Holy Spirit. I think Hybels went overboard in classifying all sorts of times when God spoke to people in the Bible as “whispers.” I think there are other ways for God to communicate with mankind than through “whispers.” But that is not much of a criticism.

Hybels is actually quite helpful when setting down guidelines to help us determine if we’re actually hearing from God or not. His guidelines stick close to Scripture and common sense.

I found the chapter full of stories from Willow Creek where people felt God “speaking” to them quite inspiring. God is real, God communicates, and God changes lives. We fill our lives with background noise and busy-work. This book helped me think about how to cut down on the ambient buzz and create a space where I can be attentive to the Spirit.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

