More of Luther on Communion

Commenting on 1 Cor. 10:17, Martin Luther preached: “We eat the Lord by the faith of the Word which the soul consumes and enjoys.  In this way my neighbor also eats me:  I give him my goods, body and life and all that I have, and let him consume and use it in his want.  Likewise, I also need my neighbor; I too am poor and afflicted, and suffer him to help and serve me in turn.  Thus we are woven one into the other, helping one another even as Christ helped us.  This is what it means spiritually to eat and drink one another” (Complete Sermons of Martin Luther, vol. 1, pg. 213.

Leave a Reply

