Eucharistic Meditation – 4th Sunday After Easter

Sometimes we make spiritual matters too complicated.  Salvation comes through eating and drinking Christ.  Jesus tells us this in John 6:

53:  Then Jesus said unto them, Verily, verily, I say unto you, Except ye eat the flesh of the Son of man, and drink his blood, ye have no life in you.
54: Whoso eateth my flesh, and drinketh my blood, hath eternal life; and I will raise him up at the last day.
55: For my flesh is meat indeed, and my blood is drink indeed.
56: He that eateth my flesh, and drinketh my blood, dwelleth in me, and I in him.
57: As the living Father hath sent me, and I live by the Father: so he that eateth me, even he shall live by me.
 

This is nothing new.  God’s first negative command to the human race concerned eating.  Satan tempted Adam and Eve to eat wrongly.  They fell for it, and we all fell through that disobedient eating.  Jesus came to show us how to eat and drink correctly.  Remember that Jesus was accused to partying too much—of eating with wrong crowd, and of drinking too much.  His first miracle, after all, was to turn gallons of water into wine at a marriage feast.  Jesus wasn’t a dour health-food nut.  But, he was a spiritual super-athlete, and he calls us to the same strenuous spiritual race.  We shouldn’t relax in our spiritual quest, but the problem is that we look for Jesus in all the wrong places.  We look for him in quiet times, precious moments, T-Shirts, mega-churches, and bumper-stickers.  Although all of these things might have their proper place, the Lord’s Supper tends to be forgotten in the mad rush after the latest purpose-driven fad.  Jesus didn’t promise to meet us in a quiet time-he did promise that, if we drink his blood and eat his flesh, he would give us his eternal life.

Leave a Reply

