Thinklings-Chesterton the Large (Part 2)


Chesterton had a large frame–and a large sense of humor:

“‘I am six foot two,’ he informed a reporter in America, ‘and my weight has never been calculated’. On another occasion he remarked, ‘I always enjoy myself more than most, there’s such a lot of me having a good time.’ When during the First World War a woman accosted him with ‘Mr Chesterton, why are you not out at the Front?’ he replied calmly, ‘Madam, if you go round to my side you will see that I am'” (Michael Ffinch, G.K. Chesterton, 4-5).

Good introduction to Chesterton: American Chesterton Society

Leave a Reply

